Check Out This Site.

He has a blog. He posted on his blog, this wonderful blog:

http://www.wesdraws.com/blog/graphic-novel-process-drawing-efficiency/

Some of the ways I adapted to deal with efficiency, was to also drop from 11×17 boards to 9×12 boards. I didn’t create a spiffy page template, because I couldn’t tell you how to open photoshop let alone use it, but I decided to make my pages no more than 3 tiers. Either a splash page, 3 panels per page, or 6 panels per page.

I need to try that part about not second guessing the work. Because I have a horrible habit of doing that. A lot.

I try to pencil a group of pages then ink them. I don’t know if that actually helps (since I spend a month inking, second guessing, inking, re-drawing each page) but the pages seem to get done faster in the pencils stage by using this grouping process.

Scott Morse, probably the most efficient cartoonist I’ve ever seen, used a nifty process on his STRANGE FICTION books, where he drew each panel on it’s own, and once he had three panels, he’d butt them together in photoshop to make an 11×17 page.

That’s something I want to eventually try, but it means I’d probably have to alter my style of storytelling, because I like to alternate from 6 panels, to 3 panels, to a one page splash to control the pacing of the story. I’ll probably try it on a short comic some day. I’ll let you know. Wait on the edge of your seats.

About donaldelay

Small press cartoonist. CNA. College Student. Curmudgeon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment