HELLHOUNDS ON MY TRAIL

That’s the title of the mini bio-comic I’m working on about the legend of Robert Johnson, one of the greatest blues musicians in history. The book isn’t about his life. It’s about the legends. Not just the “deal at the crossroads” legend (though I don’t show any actual deal, it’s hinted at in the book) but the legends of how he died, and lived as well as his music. It’s roughly 48 pages, before editting. Once it’s all drawn up, I’ll give it a final edit.

Here’s what will probably be the cover. I’m still debating on that, and if I want it to be in color or not. The goal is to have it look like an old album cover.

Here’s a couple of pages, including the deal at the crossroads. (second page)




One in progress.

The end page. Like a movie with final caption monologues explaining the person died. I usually hate those, but I wanted to give some insight into RJ, and show that sketch that I was really proud of but now hate. No real spoilers. I mean, if you don’t know he’s dead you’re probably not going to be reading the book.

I showed this pic in the last post, but here it is again, with a little more explanation.

Like I said last post, a lot of the pages in this book were redrawn 4 or 5 times using different brushes, quills, inkwash, and blue and sepia watercolor tones. The reason for that was to find the right tone for the book. I want the overall feel of it to reflect Johnson. I tried old quills and brushes, techniques used by people like Herriman, McCay, Segar. Cartoonists of around that era. It didn’t feel right. I tried inkwash for the same reasons, but just didn’t find my voice with it. I used sepia and blue watercolor tones to get the feeling of old photographs, as well as to seperate current timeline from memory, but scrapped that idea because I thought the reader would feel hit over the head with direction.

After all that work, I ended up settling on a .50 rapidosketch pen for all the line work to get the same static, tin feeling you got from hearing him play the dobro, from his singing, and a feeling like this was done by him, in a jounral to keep his thoughts.

I hope when the final product is all said and done, people enjoy it.

About donaldelay

Small press cartoonist. CNA. College Student. Curmudgeon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HELLHOUNDS ON MY TRAIL

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and
    interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that too few men and women are speaking
    intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something concerning this.

  2. Jaqueline says:

    Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is
    just excellent and i could assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the
    gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

